liverpool biennial independents 2004

Independent Districtindependent dist Georgian Quartergeorgian quarter City Centralcity central Docklandsdocklands Artistsartists

Archived 2008, another new folder

  Feeding the 5000  

Feed the 5000
Biennial opening night
Independent District


  The Art Organisation, Liverpool Biennial 2004  

The Art Organisation
St Bride's Church
Liverpool Biennial 2004


  Dave White, Liverpool Biennial 2004  

Dave White
Independent District
Liverpool Biennial 2004


  Gillian Davis, Babycream  

Gillian Davis
Liverpool Biennial 2004


  One of Daisy Delaney's 'Thousand Windmills'  

Daisy Delaney
A thousand windmills
Liverpool Biennial 2004


  Production still from 'Circle, Cross, Dome, Square', 2004, Simon Bendi

Simon Bendi

Independent District

Novas Warehouse


circle, cross, dome, square
simon bendi and the tai choo crew

Through the alchemic use of colour, texture and form this hour long silent film references the historical debates surrounding Eastern and Western religion, art and authority. ‘circle, cross, dome, square’ questions our preconceptions and ethical values in a world seemingly hell bent on conflict based on the twin towers of religion and authority.

Played out through the relationships between the Cross, discoloured at its base alluding to Christ’s crucifixion, the Circle of the repeated loop, the ‘ethereal’ lead Dome, and the Square framing are the narratives of religion, art and authority.

Offering no prescriptive authorial viewpoint the film allows the audience to negotiate their own position as regards the Cross and its iconic status through a slow paced moving image that perfectly encapsulates Bendi’s themes as an artist namely, the changeless change and the balance between the discipline of systems and personal freedom.

‘circle, cross, dome, square’ is a beautifully simple and poignant film.


Artists represented at Novas:

Gaynor Evelyn Sweeney
Tony Knox
Gary Sollars
Ben Youdan
George Lund
Paul Clarkson
Michael Ricardo Andreev
Kofi Fosu
Stephan Fowlkes
Reid Stowe
Paolo Pelosini
Patricia Jacobs

Tony Evans
Tom Murphy
Joe Livingstone
Sue Sharples
Lynsey Stoddart
Jan Bentley
Paul Gatenby
Paul Myott
Jim Lakey

Nicki McCubbing
Rebecca Chesney
Filipos Tsitsopoulos
Jannis Markopoulos
Sumer Erek
Simon Bendi

Paul Critchley
James Fearon
Brendan Byrne

James Buso
Pete Clarke
Julie Jones
Paul Luckcraft
Sue Milburn
Neil Morris

Oliver East
Lesley Halliwell
Paul Needham
Pat Flynn
David Mackintosh
Nick Jordan
Dave Griffiths
Lord Mongo
Jim Medway
Tom Wood
David Alker
Peter Liddell
Laurence Lane

Pavel Buchler
Sophia Crilly
Alan Dunn
David Gledhill
Brigitte Jurack
Mark Kennard
Dinu Li
Angie McVeigh
Olivia Plender
Martin Vincent


Archived February 2008, another new folder